Navigation:  Image Viewer > Working With Studies > Writing Studies to Media >

Options

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page
Show/Hide Hidden Text

Clicking on Additional options in the Media Writer will open the Media Writer Options dialog.  Options are saved as user preferences and persist between sessions for each user on a given machine.

Screenshot

 

The following options can be set:

Staging Folder Options specifies the root folder that staging files will be written to.  The entire contents of each disc will be staged in its own sub-folder - named via time-stamp - within the specified staging folder before the disc is written.
oUser temp directory: the staging folders are created in the current user's Windows-defined temp folder under the sub-directory ClearCanvas\MediaWriter
(e.g. C:\Documents and Settings\SampleUser\Local Settings\Temp\ClearCanvas\MediaWriter)
oSpecify directory: the staging folders are created in the specified absolute path
(e.g. C:\Staging)
Include ClearCanvas Workstation, Portable Edition: specifies if the portable edition of ClearCanvas Vetstation should be written to the disc.  The default setting is to include it.
oShow ideographic names in study list, Show phonetic names in study list: specifies if the portable edition of ClearCanvas Vetstation written on the disc should show ideographic and/or phonetic names.  The default setting is to not show these names.  These options are only applicable if the Include ClearCanvas Workstation, Portable Edition option is checked.
Delete staged files after writing: uncheck this option if you do not want the staged files deleted from the hard disk after they are written to the media.  The default setting is to delete staged files after writing.
Verify media after writing: ensures that the staged files were correctly written to the disc.  Note that verification is a long-running operation.  The default setting is to verify media after writing.
Eject media after writing: automatically eject the disc after writing is complete.  The default setting is to not eject media after writing.

Technical Note

For high capacity media such as Blu-ray discs or even DVDs, the contents of the staging folder may be very large.  Consider using the Specify directory option to specify a staging folder on a dedicated drive.
The ClearCanvas Vetstation install folder should not be used as a staging folder with the Specify directory option.  Doing so will cause the Vetstation to indicate that it is a modified installation.
Careful consideration should be given to disabling the Delete staged files after writing option.  If the staged files are not automatically deleted upon completion of media writing, the Vetstation will never delete them and users must remember to do so manually.  Failing to delete the staging folders will inevitably result in these folders consuming large amounts of hard disk space and potentially degrading system performance.

Media Writing and Diskspace Management

Due to the large size of the staging folder created during media writing, it is possible to cause Diskspace Management to delete studies.  In the worst case scenario, Diskspace Management will delete studies which have been selected to write to media and therefore cause disc writing to fail.

If the Media Writer detects a potential issue with Diskspace Management a warning is displayed, however the Write button remains enabled.
 

 

To avoid issues with Diskspace Management and the Media Writer ensure that there is sufficient disk space available and that high and low watermarks are set appropriately; or if necessary, configure the staging folder to use a drive other than the one used by the local store.

 

ClearCanvas Vetstation - User's Guide
© 2005-2015 Synaptive Medical